Billiat named in CAF Champions League Team of the Decade

Khama Billiat won the CAF Champions League with Mamelodi Sundowns in 2015

Former Warriors star Khama Billiat has been voted into the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Champions League Team of the Decade in recognition of his impressive performances in Africa’s premier club competition.

The 32-year-old Billiat, now on the books of South African glamour club Kaizer Chiefs was instrumental in Mamelodi Sundowns’ maiden CAF Champions League win during the 2015/2016 season.

After the success, Billiat was named the second best Africa-based player by the continental football body CAF, behind his then Mamelodi Sundowns teammate, goalkeeper Denis Onyango of Uganda.

Khama Billiat played in his second Champions League final of his career last season with Kaizer Chiefs

Billiat also played in another Champions League final in 2021, with Kaizer Chiefs, but the South African club missed out on the continental crown after a 3-0 defeat to Egyptian giants Al Ahly in the decider played at the Mohamed V Stadium in Casablanca, Morocco.

The former Zimbabwe international is one of only four players from Southern Africa named in the Champions League Team of the Decade.

The others are South African striker Percy Tau and Ugandan goalkeeper Onyango who also won the Champions League with Mamelodi Sundowns in 2016 and Zambia’s former Stoppila Sunzu who had success in continental competition with TP Mazembe from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The starting eleven is unsurprisingly dominated by Egyptians, with the Red Devils legends Hossam Ashour and Hossam Ghaly – who is now on the club’s board also included.

Tanzania superstar Mbwana Samatta, formerly of TP Mazembe and Simba leads the line, while Billiat and Onyango also made the cut.

CAF Champions League Team of the Decade in Full:

Goalkeeper: Denis Onyango (Uganda)

Defence: Ahmed Fathi (Egypt), Wael Gomaa (Egypt), Stopilia Sunzu (Zambia), Ali Maaloul (Tunisia)

Midfield: Hossam Ashour (Egypt), Hossam Ghaly (Egypt)

Forwards: Walid Soliman (Egypt), Percy Tau (South Africa), Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Mbawana Samatta (Tanzania)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here