Mushangwe clinches Women’s Big Bash Title with Adelaide Strikers

Anesu Mushangwe (left) celebrates with her Adelaide Strikers teamates after winning the Women's Big Bash League title on Saturday

Zimbabwe women’s cricket team all-rounder Anesu Mushangwe clinched her biggest since moving to Australia after her side Adelaide Strikers, beat Sydney Sixers by 10 runs to win their maiden Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) title on Saturday.

Mushangwe, who became the first Zimbabwean to feature in the WBBL did not feature in the final, but she will still reflect on a memorable debut campaign with the Adelaide Strikers.

The Lady Chevrons star made her debut for Adelaide Strikers over a week ago against Hobart Hurricanes and made an instant impression as he claimed a wicket and took a brilliant catch.

Anesu Mushangwe

She accounted for Rachel Trenaman as the Strikers took on Hobart Hurricanes Women, who holed out a full toss to Tahlia McGrath.

Mushangwe would finish with figures of one for 21 in 3.4 overs as the Hurricanes were bowled out for 154.

The Strikers went on to win the match by eight wickets, with McGrath striking 94 off 51.

On Saturday she was not in the playing 11, where West Indies star Deandra Dottin shone with bat and ball as Adelaide Strikers beat Sydney Sixers by 10 runs to win their first Women’s Big Bash League title.

The all-rounder, who retired from West Indies duty this year, hit an unbeaten 52 off 37 balls in the Strikers’ 147-5.

She then bowled a double wicket maiden in her first over to help reduce the Sixers to 16-4 at North Sydney Oval.

Darcie Brown claimed 2-15, including Sixers captain Ellyse Perry for 33, as the Sixers were bowled out for 137.

Dottin, who finished with 2-30 and was named player of the match, said: “It means a lot to me.”

Adelaide Strikers, who beat Brisbane Heat in the Challenger on Friday to reach to final, were runners-up twice in the past three seasons.

Strikers captain Tahlia McGrath said: “Last year hurt, and we fell short at the final hurdle. That drove us this season.

“I’m so proud of this team – what a team. This one is going to be special.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here