Raza included in Zim XI squad to face South Africa A

Experimental side for Nepal tour

Sikandar Raza

In-form batting allrounder Sikandar Raza is the most experienced player in the Zimbabwe XI side to take on South Africa A in Harare while a largely experimental Zimbabwe A squad will tour Nepal for a limited-overs series to be played concurrently in Kathmandu.

Raza has been in top form both locally and abroad after starring for Rocks in the Logan Cup and Pro50 Championship before continuing his good form in the recent Dhaka Premier League in Bangladesh.

He is the most senior player in the Zimbabwe XI team which will play three one 50 over matches and five T20s at Harare Sports Club from April 25 to May 10.

The squad also includes other national team players such as Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza and Ryan Burl as the hosts brace for a crucial international season.

Among the notable exclusions are limited-overs captain Craig Ervine, Test skipper Sean Williams, seamer Richard Ngarava and wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva, who have all been rested while paceman Blessing Muzarabani is in India for the IPL.

Meanwhile Luke Jongwe is the most senior player in the Zimbabwe A squad which will embark on a maiden tour of Nepal.

The squad also features promising Eagles seamer Brad Evans who has been rewarded after a solid domestic campaign while spinner John Masara will also have an opportunity to impress the selectors after starring for Mountaineers.

The Zimbabwe A side will be in Nepal for three one-day games from April 30 to Ma4 and as many T20 matches pencilled to be played from May 6 to 9 at Kirtipur in Kathmandu.

ZIMBABWE XI SQUAD: Burl Ryan, Chatara Tendai, Chivanga Tanaka, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Kasuza Kevin, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Masuku Ernest, Masvaure Prince, Mayavo Nyasha, Mutumbami Richmond, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Tiripano Donald

ZIMBABWE A SQUAD: Campbell Johnathan, Evans Bradley, Gwandu Trevor, Jongwe Luke, Kaia Innocent, Kaia Roy, Madande Clive, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Masara John, Maunze Kudzai, Mavuta Brandon, Munyonga Tony, Mutombodzi Tinotenda, Nyauchi Victor, Tsiga Tafadzwa



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here