Hasaranga returns to captain SL against Zimbabwe

BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 01: Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka celebrates after taking the wicket of Usman Ghani of Afghanistan during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup match between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka at The Gabba on November 01, 2022 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

Colombo – Sri Lanka appointed all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga as the captain of their Twenty20 side on Saturday ahead of their series against Zimbabwe next month, while batsman Kusal Mendis will lead their one-day international team.

Charith Asalanka was named as deputy to both Hasaranga and Mendis, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said in a statement.

Hasaranga will make his comeback after missing the Asia Cup and the 50-overs World Cup earlier this year after picking up an injury in the Lanka Premier League in August.

He succeeds regular skipper Dasun Shanaka who was named in their preliminary squads for three ODIs and as many T20 matches against the African side on home soil starting Jan. 6.

Kusal Mendis

Mendis took over ODI captaincy two games into the World Cup in India after Shanaka was ruled out of the tournament due to a thigh injury.

Sri Lanka had a disappointing tournament, finishing ninth out of 10 teams with two wins from nine games.

The SLC had responded by naming a new selection committee led by former opener Upul Tharanga that also includes former player Ajantha Mendis.

It also appointed former captain and batting great Sanath Jayasuriya as ‘cricket consultant’ on a year-long deal.

Sri Lanka Squads

Preliminary ODI squad: Kusal Mendis (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekera.

Preliminary T20I squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanaka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Janith Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana.


1st ODI: 06 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
2nd ODI: 08 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
3rd ODI: 11 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
1st T20I: 14 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
2nd T20I: 16 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
3rd T20I: 18 January 2024, R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here