Inaugural Zim Domestic T10 League gets underway

Takashinga Patriots I will be one of the teams to watch during the inaugural Zim Domestic T10 League

Zimbabwe cricket team players will have an opportunity to fine-tune their skills ahead of next month’s International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in Australia when they take part in the inaugural edition of the Zim Domestic T10 Cup which gets underway on Thursday.

There will be a total of 27 matches in the tournament which runs until September 18, with all games set to be held at the Harare Sports Club.

A total of eight teams will participate in the Zim Domestic T10 League, with all sides squaring off against each other twice before the top four teams qualify for the semi-finals.

The eight teams participating in the tournament are Gladiators, Lions, Takashinga Patriots I, Takashinga Patriots II, Harare King Cricket Club, Great Zimbabwe Cricket Club, Bulawayo Athletic Club and Westside Cricket Club.

The league stage matches will end on September 16, with the top four sides squaring off in the semi-finals, slated to take place on September 18.

The final of the Zimbabwe Domestic T10 Cup will also take place on September 18 once the identity of the winners of the semi-final ties are determined.

Lions players and coaches celebrate after beating Westside in the NPL T20 Blast final at Harare Sports Club in June

The presence of national team players who have just returned from a tour of Australia is expected to add some star quality to the competition which is expected to help local players develop their skills in the shortest format of the game.

The T10 comes after the National Premier League T20 Blast which was won by Lions following a three-run victory against Westside in a thrilling final played at Harare Sports Club in June.

Three matches will be lined up on all nine match days, which promises a lot of entertainment for the spectators.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here