Warriors get Bafana Bafana and Morocco in Afcon qualifiers

Zimbabwe's participation still up in the air over FIFA ban

Zimbabwe is currently suspended from international football by world football governing body Fifa due to government interference in the affairs of the country's football association

Zimbabwe have been drawn with neighbours South Africa in Group K for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in Cote d’Ivoire.

The draw was conducted at SuperSport studios in Randburg, Johannesburg on Tuesday night, where the Warriors were also pitted against Morocco and Liberia in the group.

Zimbabwe’s participation is pending their appeal of a suspension imposed by Fifa last month.

The team is currently in shambles, with no substantive coach in place following the suspension of the Zifa board by the Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC), which attracted the Fifa sanctions.

Last week, the Confederation of African Football announced that suspended Zimbabwe and Kenya, would be able play in the qualifiers due to start in June provided they can resolve their suspension by Fifa at least two weeks before the start of the qualifiers.

The 48 teams who qualified for the group stages were drawn into 12 groups and the top two sides from each group will qualify for Cote d’Ivoire 2023.

Zimbabwe have qualified for the last three successive Africa Cup of Nations and they will be aiming to making it four in a row by booking a ticket to Cote d’Ivoire.

With Morocco the favourites to top the group, the Warriors will be hoping to upstage neighbours South Africa for second position in the group.

Bafana failed to qualify for the finals in Cameroon earlier this year after losing to Sudan in their group.

They are desperate to make the finals to be hosted from June to July next year.

Hosts Cote d’Ivoire have been drawn against all-Southern Africa opposition in Zambia, Comoros and Lesotho.

The qualifiers will start in June and CAF said they will announce the dates soon.

Full draw

Group A: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome/Mauritius

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Togo, Eswatini

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya, Namibia, Burundi

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central Africa Republic

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Niger, Tanzania

Group G: Mali, Congo, Gambia, South Sudan

Group H: Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho

Group I: DR Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia

Group L: Senegal, Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here