Myers back in Zimbabwe’s ODI squad, Williams still unavailable

JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - JANUARY 10: Dion Myers of Zimbabwe talks during a press conference prior to the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 at Holiday Inn Sandton on January 10, 2020 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

Highly-rated Zimbabwe top-order batsman Dion Myers is expected to make a comeback to international cricket, after an eight-month absence due to academic commitments.

The 20-year-old former Zimbabwe Under-19 skipper has been named in Zimbabwe’s 15-man squad set to play against Afghanistan in the three-match ODI series starting on Saturday at Harare Sports Club.

Myers has not featured for Zimbabwe since his appearance against Ireland in an ODI match in Belfast on September 08, 2021, after reportedly moving to the UK to further his education.

There were fears that his international career was over after he subsequently missed the tour of Sri Lanka early this year and the recent Twenty20 International series against Namibia.


Myers has however bounced back ahead of the home series against Afghanistan and his return is expected to strengthen the top order batting department which has struggled for consistency in recent matches.

In another major boost, fast bowler Blessing Muzarabani has returned to the Zimbabwe squad after his learning stint at the Indian Premier League and is expected and will lead the pace attack which also includes uncapped fast bowler Tanaka Chivanga, who made his T20I debut against Namibia last month.

Left-arm spinner Ainsley Ndlovu, who last played for the Chevrons two years ago has also returned to the squad which is led by the national limited-overs captain Craig Ervine.

Test skipper Sean Williams is a notable absentee in the squad as he misses out because of personal matters for which Zimbabwe Cricket has granted him compassionate leave.

The series has also come too early for the duo of Richard Ngarava and Wellington Masakadza will miss the series too, as they are yet to fully recover from lower back and right shoulder injuries, respectively.

Zimbabwe’s three ODIs against Afghanistan are part of the World Cup Super League and will be played on June 4, 6 and 9 at the Harare Sports Club.

Squad: Craig Ervine (captain), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Tanaka Chivanga, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Ainsley Ndlovu, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here