Ndhlovu to captain Zimbabwe squad at ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup

Kelis Ndhlovu was named the Player of the Match after impressing with both bat and ball during the ICC Women's T20 World Cup qualifiers in the UAE in September

Teenage sensation Kelis Ndhlovu has been named captain of the Zimbabwe team ahead of their participation at the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup to be held in South Africa from January 14 to 29.

Ndhlovu, who celebrated her 17th birthday on December 16, is one of the most experienced players in the young Zimbabwe side with international experience at senior level.

She finished with the most wickets at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022 held in the United Arab Emirates in September.

The Chitungwiza-born rising star is also equally talented with the bat having enjoyed success as an opening batter at senior level.

Zimbabwe Under-19 women’s team players celebrate after taking a wicket during their recent tour of India

Zimbabwe will be hoping that Ndhlovu plays to the best of her ability during the upcoming ICC Under-19 Women’s World Cup.

Another player with a senior cap in the Zimbabwe squad is the gifted pace bowler Michelle Mavunga while the Ndiraya twins, Kay and Kelly, are also part of the squad of 15 that is travelling to South Africa.

The Zimbabwe Under-19 Women’s side is coached by Trevor Phiri.

The young Lady Chevrons are in Group B alongside England, Pakistan and Rwanda and play their first match against England at the JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom on 15 January.

The ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 has 16 teams that are divided into four groups of four, with the top three in each group progressing to the Super Six stage which will have two pools.

The top two sides from each of the Super Six leagues will progress to the semi-finals, with the final taking place on 29 January.


Kelis Ndhlovu (captain), Kelly Ndiraya, Kay Ndiraya, Adel Zimunhu, Natasha Mutomba, Vimbai Mutungwindu, Danielle Meikle, Tawananyasha Marumani, Michelle Mavunga, Olinda Chare, Kudzai Chigora, Betty Mangachena, Chipo Moyo, Faith Ndhlalambi, Rukudzo Mwakayeni



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here