Raza named in ESPNcricinfo’s T20I Team of the Year


Zimbabwe’s T20 captain Sikandar Raza has been named in the T20I Team of the Year by the influential cricket news website ESPNcricinfo in recognition of his consistent performances in 2023.

While the Zimbabwe cricket team endured a difficult year in 2023, after failing to qualify for both the 50 overs and T20 World Cups, Raza enjoyed individual sucess, especially in the game’s shortest format, as his profile continued to soar internationally.

The 37-year-old Chevrons stalwart, who was named Zimbabwe’s new T20 captain in November, is the only local player to be named in the renowned cricket publication’s team of the year.

Credit: ESPNCricinfo

The all-star team, which is captained by  the former South African skipper, Faf Du Plessis, is dominated by Australian and Indian players who have three players each.

Raza played 11 T20I matches for Zimbabwe in 2023 and managed to score 515 runs at an impressive average of 51,5.

Raza managed six half centuries and a high score of 82 runs.

The veteran allrounder also impressed with ball in hand as he claimed 17 wickets in 12 innings, at an average of 14,9 and an economy rate of 6,57.

Sikandar Raza

His incredible form in white ball cricket also saw him overtake Indian great, Virat Kohli in the most player of the match accolades.

Raza’s impressive individual performances saw him earning contracts to feature in lucrative franchise competitions such as the Indian Premier League, the Carribean Premier League, the Pakistan Super League as well as other T20 competitions in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, UAE, just to mention a few.

This is now the second year in a row that Raza has been recognised by ESPNcricinfo after he was also named in the publication’s One Day International (ODI) team of the year in 2022.

ESPNcricinfo T20 Team of the Year:

Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Shubman Gill (India), Faf Du Plessis (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Suryakumar Yadav (India), Heinrich

Klaasen (South Africa), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Daniel Sams (Australia), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan), Nathan Ellis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here