Mpofu rolling back the years in Legends League Cricket

Christopher Mpofu showing off his dancing skills after taking a wicket

He might have since called time on his international cricket career but former Zimbabwe cricket team fast bowler Christopher Mpofu still hasn’t lost any of the talent and passion which made him a fan favourite at the peak of his cricketing powers.

Mpofu has been rolling back the years with some impressive performances with the ball in the Legends League Cricket 2022 which got underway in Kolkata, India last week.

The 36-year-old Plumtree-born seamer popularly known as ‘The Magwegwe Express’ last played for Zimbabwe in an ODI against Bangladesh two years ago.

Mpofu has taken four wickets in his first two matches for the Manipal Tigers where some of his teammates include compatriot Tatenda Taibu, along with some of the game’s finest players, Harbhajan Singh, Bret Lee and Muttiah Muralitharan.

The Zimbabwean trio of Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura and Solomon Mire have also been taking part in the competition which has attracted other cricket legends such as Irfan Pathan, Monty Panesar, Yusuf Pathan, Shane Watson, Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Gautam Gambhir and Jacques Kallis among others.

Mpofu began his stint with the Manipal Tigers by claiming two wickets for 37 runs in 3.4 against Bhilwara Kings.

His effort however could not help his team win as they lost the match by three wickets.

In their second match played on Monday, Mpofu and his team batting first scored 120-8 in 20 overs and like in their first game. He registered yet another two wickets in the match, finishing with figures of 2-26 in 2.5 overs. They however lost the match by two wickets as their opponents, Gujarat Giants chased the target with 16 balls to spare.

Mpofu is the joint second highest wicket-taker with former West Indies bowler, Fidel Edwards, both on four wickets.

The Legends League Cricket is a global T20 cricket league featuring recently retired international cricketers playing competitive cricket and the first season was held in Oman in January this year and had three teams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here