Returning Ervine to lead Zimbabwe at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Craig Ervine will lead the Zimbabwe side at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia next month

Experienced batsman Craig Ervine will lead the Zimbabwe cricket team at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 to be staged in Australia next month after being named in the 15-man squad announced on Thursday.

The 37-year-old left-hander was a doubt for the upcoming global tournament after missing the recent ODI series against Bangladesh, India and Australia due to a hamstring injury.

Ervine, who was sidelined by hamstring niggles since early August, is now fit and returns to captain the side.

Zimbabwe have also been boosted by the return of seamer Tendai Chatara, off-spinner Wellington Masakadza and middle-order batsman Milton Shumba after they all recovered from injuries to make the squad.

Chatara’s return from a collarbone fracture means Victor Nyauchi misses out as the selected opted for Bradley Evans, who in addition to his bowling can also chip in with some runs with the bat.

Tendai Chatara has also returned to the Zimbabwe side after a long term injury

Fast bowler Blessing Muzarabani is expected to spearhead Zimbabwe’s bowling attack after also recovering from injury.

Muzarabani was part of the Zimbabwe squad that recently toured Australia for a one-day international series but did not play a single game as the selectors avoided rushing him back to action with the ICC T20 World Cup in mind.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva, who took over the captaincy duties in Ervine’s absence is one of the senior players in the squad alongside inform allrounder Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams.

The quartet of Wessly Madhevere, Evans, Tony Munyonga and Clive Madande will be playing in their first major tournament for Zimbabwe.

Opener Tadiwanashe Marumani’s blistering form in the ongoing Zim Domestic T10 League appears to have come a little too late after only making the non-travelling reserves list which also includes Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi and Tanaka Chivanga.

Zimbabwe will begin their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the preliminary round where they will face Ireland, Scotland, and West Indies in Group B with the top two teams progressing to the Super 12 of the competition.

The Chevrons will begin their campaign on October 17 with a date against Ireland at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania.

Zimbabwe will have an opportunity to fine-tune their preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup when they take on ri Lanka and Namibia in warm-up matches scheduled for October 10 and 13 in Melbourne.

Zimbabwe Squad: Craig Ervine (captain), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe Clive Madandee, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams

Non-travelling reserves: Tanaka Chivanga, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Victor Nyauchi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here